The Club

The majority of the City’s 25 wards have their own Ward Clubs.

Our Club was founded in 1909 by Sir Thomas Vansittart Bowater Bt, Lord Mayor 1913/14 and for many years a Member of Parliament for the City of London. Historically the Club’s objectives lay in protecting the ward’s interests and enabling members to meet their elected councillors in the City of London Corporation. Our current councillors are led by Alderman Ian Luder, who served as Lord Mayor of the City in 2008/09 – the year in which the Club celebrated its centenary, and seven Common Councilmen. Electors must live or pay rates in the Ward or represent an active business within the Ward area. 


The Club arranges about seven or eight functions each year. Recent visits have included those to the Royal Opera House, Bank of England, Mansion House, Houses of Parliament, Somerset House, Spencer House, the V & A Museum, Old Bailey, London Transport Museum, British Library, London Eye, Vinopolis, Tate Gallery at Bankside, Museum of Garden History, Bridewell Theatre and newly restored Sadlers Wells Theatre.

Membership of the Ward Club is open to anyone with a connection with the Ward or interested in City affairs and heritage. The Club’s activities are now mainly centred around social gatherings including informative talks, theatre trips, wide-ranging visits to places of interest, an annual dinner normally held in one of the City’s Livery Halls, an occasional lunch in Guildhall and an annual Carol Service in the Wren Church of St. Andrew-by-the-Wardrobe located in the Ward.

OFFICERS 2015-2016 

 President  Alderman Ian Luder
 Vice President Emeritus  Christopher Mitchell OBE
 Vice President  Deputy Catherine McGuinness CC
 Chairman  Jeremy Simons CC
 Deputy Chairman  Angus Knowles-Cutler
 Hon Treasurer  John Latham
 Hon Secretary  John Latham
 Social Secretary  Henrika Priest CC
 Public Relations Officer  Graham Packham CC


 Members of the Court  of Common Council Henrika Priest CC

Emma Edhem CC

Michael Hudson CC

Graham Packham CC

 Co-opted Member The Rev Luke Miller
Rector St Andrew-by-the- Wardrobe
 Official Committee Members Graham Packham CC (3rd year)

John Latham (2nd year)

Michael Hudson CC (1st year)

 Elected Members Stephen Gardner (3rd year)

Barry Graham (3rd year)

Nicholas Somers (3rd year)

Virginia Hopson (1st year)


Past Presidents and Chairmen of the Club